Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Replacing Richard will be Julie Davis, who has transferred from the External Affairs Division, and who was with us previously in 2007-08. Julie will bring back her prior experience in the position, as well as new skills that she developed while at the foundation. Welcome back Julie!

Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Our best student awards this year go to Best Senior, Hsin-Ping Wu; Best Beginning Applied, Adam Jaeger; Best Beginning Theoretical, Sandra Addo and Haileab Hilafu. Congratulations to these hard-working students! Each student will receive a monetary award and certificate.

Monday, October 11, 2010

October 20, 2010 has been declared World Statistics Day by the United Nations. See here for more information. Visit the display about statistics that the Statistics Club has organized for 10/20/2010 from noon-3 pm at Tate Center Plaza.

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Our department is very pleased with the hiring of Dr. Mark Werner, who started his position as Lecturer in August 2010. Mark will play an important role in teaching statistics for business students, and is also interested in further pursuing his interests in statistics education. Welcome Mark!

Sunday, October 3, 2010

We would also like to congratulate Dr. Kim Gilbert and Jack Morse, in that their positions are now permanent instead of temporary. Kim is a Lecturer, primarily working with MSIT 3000 classes (along with Mark), and Jack Morse is now a permanent Instructor who teaches STAT 2000 classes.