Abhyuday Mandal is a Recipient of the Sarah Moss Fellowship

Friday, April 29, 2011

The Department would like to congratulate Dr. Mandal on being a recipient of the 2011-2012 Sarah Moss Fellowship. Dr. Mandal will use his award in further pursuit of collaborative research at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Adam Jaeger earns Honorable Mention from NSF

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Adam Jaeger has earned an Honorable Mention for his recent proposal submitted to the NSF's Graduate Research Fellowship Program. From the Program Solicitation, "The NSF accords Honorable Mention to meritorious applicants who do not receive fellowship awards. This is considered a significant national academic achievement." Adam is in his second year of the graduate program, will earn his MS degree in Statistics in May, and will continue on in the PhD program with TN Sriram as his research advisor. Great job, Adam!

Undergraduate Student, Julia Orr, elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Friday, March 18, 2011

The Department wishes to congratulate statistics undergraduate student, Julia Orr, on being elected to Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most widely-known academic honorary society. An invitation for induction to Phi Beta Kappa is only offered to the most outstanding arts and sciences students, of which Julia is well deserving. Great job, Julia!

Xiangrong Yin, Abhyuday Mandal, and Cheolwoo Park Receive Promotions

Friday, March 11, 2011

The department is pleased to announce the promotion of Xiangrong Yin to full professor, and the promotions of Abhyuday Mandal and Cheolwoo Park to associate professor with tenure. They have all been true assets to the department and we are confident that they will continue to excel! Congratulations!

Jeongyoun Ahn receives M.G. Michael Award

Thursday, December 2, 2010

The department was informed that Jeongyoun Ahn is a 2011 recipient of the M.G. Michael Award for Research from the Franklin College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Congratulations Jeongyoun!