Friday, November 4, 2011

Congratulations to Chris Franklin for being quoted in this NY Times Education Life article about the role of sports in teaching statistics.

Thursday, September 1, 2011

University Professor Lynne Billard is the recipient of the Tenth Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. She will accept the award at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. The award ceremony will be held on Wednesday, September 14, 2011 at the Alys Stephens Center, where Lynne Billard will give a distinguished lecture and meet with students and young faculty at UAB. For more details, please click

Friday, August 26, 2011

Please click here to view the Department's latest e-newsletter.

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Jung Ae Lee was selected to receive a 2011 Innovative and Interdisciplinary Research Grant. This award was established by the Graduate School as part of its strategic initiative to support innovation and interdisciplinarity in the dissertation research being conducted by doctoral students. Congratulations, Jung Ae!

Friday, April 29, 2011

The Department would like to congratulate Dr. Mandal on being a recipient of the 2011-2012 Sarah Moss Fellowship. Dr. Mandal will use his award in further pursuit of collaborative research at the University of Illinois at Chicago.