Monday, March 10, 2014

The primary purpose of the Fulbright Program is “to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of the more than 150 countries that currently participate in the Fulbright Program.”  Approximately 800 U.S. Scholar Program grants are provided to U.S. faculty.  Fulbright alumni have moved on to attain notable distinctions throughout the United States.  Through this grant, Christine will work with faculty at The University of Auckland in Auckland, New Zealand from February to June of 2015 and looks forward to bringing back “knowledge to further promote K-12 Statistics in the U.S. and internationally.”  The department wishes Chris our profound congratulations and we look forward to hearing more about her accomplishments through the Fulbright Program upon her return!

Monday, February 24, 2014

"The Best Writing on Mathematics" is published annually by Princeton University Press.  Nicole Lazar's column "The Arts - Digitized, Quantified, and Analyzed," was originally published in CHANCE Magazine and will be published in the 2014 edition of “The Best Writing on Mathematics” which is expected to be released later this year.  According to the Princeton University Press, “this annual anthology brings together the year’s finest mathematics writing from around the world.”  Congratulations Nicole on this prestigious accomplishment!

Friday, February 14, 2014

A former student of the Department of Statistics, Ming-Hung (Jason) Kao recently received an NSF CAREER Award.  According to the National Science Foundation website, this award is given to junior faculty who “…exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.”  Jason graduated from the University of Georgia in 2009 under the supervision of Professor Abhyuday Mandal and Professor John Stufken with a dissertation entitled “Optimal Experimental Designs for Event-Related Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging,” which investigates optimal and efficient designs for event-related fMRI experiments.  He is currently an Assistant Professor at Arizona State University and will use his NSF CAREER Award to research “New Developments on Experimental Designs for Pioneering Functional Brain Imaging Technologies.”   We offer Jason our sincere congratulations on this tremendous achievement and wish him continued success in his career.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Nicole Lazar represented the University of Georgia Department of Statistics in an American Statistical Association Webinar on Undergraduate Statistics Capstone programs.  The University of Georgia Department of Statistics was one of five Universities featured in the webinar.  To view the webinar, follow the link below:

The Role and Variety of Undergraduate Statistics Capstones


Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Sandy Beaver Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences who show a sustained commitment to high-quality instruction; particularly those engaged in undergraduate teaching. Congratulations to Jack Morse on this well-deserved honor!