Department Alumnus Receives NSF Career Award

Friday, February 14, 2014

A former student of the Department of Statistics, Ming-Hung (Jason) Kao recently received an NSF CAREER Award.  According to the National Science Foundation website, this award is given to junior faculty who “…exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.”  Jason graduated from the University of Georgia in 2009 under the supervision of Professor Abhyuday Mandal and Professor John Stufken with a dissertation entitled “Optimal Experimental Designs for Event-Related Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging,” which investigates optimal and efficient designs for event-related fMRI experiments.  He is currently an Assistant Professor at Arizona State University and will use his NSF CAREER Award to research “New Developments on Experimental Designs for Pioneering Functional Brain Imaging Technologies.”   We offer Jason our sincere congratulations on this tremendous achievement and wish him continued success in his career.

Capstone Course Featured in American Statistical Association Webinar

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Nicole Lazar represented the University of Georgia Department of Statistics in an American Statistical Association Webinar on Undergraduate Statistics Capstone programs.  The University of Georgia Department of Statistics was one of five Universities featured in the webinar.  To view the webinar, follow the link below:

The Role and Variety of Undergraduate Statistics Capstones


Jack Morse Receives the 2014 Sandy Beaver Excellence in Teaching Award

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Sandy Beaver Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences who show a sustained commitment to high-quality instruction; particularly those engaged in undergraduate teaching. Congratulations to Jack Morse on this well-deserved honor!

Welcome Brett!

Monday, October 7, 2013

29179_427403910742_4966737_n (1)_0.jpgA warm welcome to Brett Johns, our new IT Professional.  Brett comes to us from Canton, Georgia.  He has been at UGA in some capacity, either as a student or employee, since moving to Athens in 2007.  Brett graduated from UGA with a degree in Political Science and is currently studying for his master's degree in Internet Technology.  Outside of IT, he enjoys being a politically active member of the community and spends most Saturdays keeping up with college football.  

Lynne Billard Receives 2013 COPSS Florence Nightingale David Award

Monday, August 12, 2013

medium_Billard.jpgThe department congratulates University Professor Lynne Billard as the 2013 recipient of the COPSS Florence Nightingale David Award. This award, jointly sponsored by COPSS and the Caucus for Women in Statistics and awarded in odd numbered years, recognizes “a female statistician who exemplifies the contributions of Florence Nightingale David”. More information about COPSS awards can be found at

Read more in UGA TODAY!